Heavy Hitting Demo Hammer – Hitachi H65SB2 Review

Guest review from friend of Direct2Trade Paul McCormack

h65sb2

Hitachi H65SB2
42.0J Heavy Duty Demolition Hammer

Over the Labour weekend I decided to tackle a landscaping project at the back of my property that has been on my mind for about 18 months. The mission was to lay about 900 landscaping blocks and create a low maintenance feature garden along the entire length of my garage. This mean busting up the footpath that ran down the perimeter. With 3 days to complete the project and the concrete demolition being a potential time drain I enlisted the help of the Hitachi H65SB2.

In regards to the Hitachi H65SB2 right from the word go, you know you are dealing with a true heavy weight that means business. Think Joe Frazier or Sonny Liston, raw power and boundless determination wrapped in a tough mean shell.

IMG_0523

H65SB2 – Doing What It Does Best – Smashing Concrete

Lifting the demolition hammer out of my truck hints at its heavy weight calibre and I am pleased it has heavy duty wheels and a convenient pull handle on the carry case. The Hitachi H65SB2 produces a whopping 42 Joules of impact energy capable of demolishing 287KG of concrete in 30 minutes and comes with a ball point and side handle as standard.

I realize I could easily have gotten away with its middle weight cousin; Hitachi’s H60MC but I couldn’t resist my shameless draw to this devastating tool’s power. Weighing in at 16.5Kg the H65SB2 means business; but its size is surprisingly well balanced and easy to move into position. The free moving side handle allows for subtle repositioning eliminating unnecessary shuffling and the minimal vibration is very acceptable for the sheer power being delivered. The trigger is large and easily operated wearing gloves and a lock on button in the trigger is conveniently located to minimize accidental engagement. The bit change is quick and simple.

I ripped through the path, it was surprisingly fun compared to the other tasks involved in the project. Honestly I loved using this tool and I couldn’t fault it in any way. Even pack down was a piece of cake with enough room in the Heavy duty case for other accessories.

The Hitachi H65SB2 comes with Hitachi’s 3 Year Heavy Duty Warranty cementing it in my mind as the best heavy Weight Hitter around.

Paul McCormack

Check Out Our Range Of Demo Hammers

Thanks Paul for the review. Direct2Trade stock a comprehensive range of demolition hammers including the H65SB2 model from Hitachi. Click here to check out the range and see the latest prices

Leave a comment